The Republic of Senegal is situated in West Africa advancing toward the Atlantic Ocean at the confluence of Europe, Africa and the Americas, and at the crossroads of major seas and air routes. The country is secular, democratic and social and ensures equality before the law for all citizens, regardless of origin, race, sex, religion distinction.

Institutions of the Republic are: the President of the Republic; the National Assembly, the Government, the Economic, Social and Environmental Council, the Constitutional Council, the Supreme Court, the Court of Auditors and the Courts under the leadership of His Excellency President Macky Sall.

The Government conducts and coordinates the policy of the nation under the leadership of Prime Minister who is responsible to the President and the Parliament under the conditions laid down in Articles 85 and 86 of the Constitution.

As host and convener of the 4th AfricaSan Conference, Senegal is represented by its Ministry of Water Resources and Sanitation and the Minister, Mr Mansour FAYE currently holds the office of the President of the African Ministers Council on Water (AMCOW).